Leeds Welcome | Leeds Rhinos

Leeds Rhinos

About Leeds Rhinos

Leeds Rhinos is a professional rugby league club based in Leeds, the club formed as Leeds St John’s in 1870 and changed its name to Leeds in 1890. In 1895, Leeds was one of twenty-two rugby clubs which broke away from the Rugby Football Union and formed what is now the Rugby Football League. Leeds joined the Super League in 1996 and became Leeds Rhinos in 1997.

Leeds won its first Challenge Cup in 1910 and has gone on to win it eleven more times. The club won its first championship in 1961. Since then, it has won nine, as well as three World Club Challenge titles. Leeds are the third most successful rugby league club in England behind Wigan and St Helens.

You might also like